Sign in with
Your question

Is deleting the partion and reformatting enough for security

Last response: in Storage
December 6, 2006 8:59:24 PM

I recently upgraded from a gaming laptop to a custom PC rig that I had some people build for me. I finally got around to selling the laptop on Ebay. I deleted the old partion, reformatted a new one, and re-installed Windows. Is this enough to completely remove all of my information that was there before? It seems as though everything is gone but I am no computer expert. I know that it stored a lot of personal information including my credit card number. I highly doubt that the buyer is a computer genious that is aiming to steal personal information by spending $600.00 on an Ebay computer from someone half way across the country as there are easier and cheaper ways, but you can never be too sure. Thanks in advance for any help.

I am sorry if this is on the wrong board, as there are so many here!
December 6, 2006 9:36:37 PM

Short answer is NO. A format and re-install is not enough to prevent the data being recovered.

Have a look at something like DBAN if you want to really delete a drive. If you are not scared off by linux there are also plenty of ways to do it from a linux live CD too.
December 6, 2006 9:52:57 PM

Like Kooch66 said, NO. What you did was actually changed 1 byte at the start of the file or folder. With a unerase program every that was not overwritten can be recovered. Eraser57 is a free utility for wiping files/folders and drives.
Related resources
December 6, 2006 10:27:29 PM

and if your still not comfortable with that then there is one other option:

buy a "cheapo" hard drive to sell with the system. its not like hard drives are expensive any more. $40 will get yah 80. or just leave the hard drive out.

you keep your old hard drive as a spare or backup and eliminate any fears of someone stealing your data.
December 14, 2006 9:13:49 AM