Belkin F5D7632-4 Connection trouble, please help!

Davs

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2006
Hi, I got my first router today! After using a DSL Cable modem for two years, I now have the need for a router. Woo! Or not. I'm quite new to the world of routers, never set one up before. I've connected the router exactly as instructed. The router says the ADSL connection is active, and that it is connected to my computer (via the ethernet cable). However, when I try and connect to the router through the gateway to change the router's settings (so i can connect to the net) in my browser, it says i need to connect to the internet, which ofcourse is not possible, as i haven't configured it yet, and to do so, i need to connect to it through the gateway like it says in the manual. I tried typing ipconfig into cmd, but it just said 'windows ip configuration' and nothing else. I then tried pinging it in cmd, which failed. So I assume that I'm not connected to it. I've made sure that my tcp/ip settings are set to 'obtain ip address automatically' (as instructed to by the manual).

Any help would be greatly appreciated :D

[edit] Oh and I'm on ToucanSurf 2MB broadband if it helps :)

And I've just realised i should have posted this in General Gateways, Routers and Firewalls. Sorry guys.

vasanx

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2004
i know exactly how u're feeling rite now.

been through the entire crap. and i survived.

"I tried typing ipconfig into cmd, but it just said 'windows ip configuration' and nothing else. I then tried pinging it in cmd, which failed."

had the same shitty prob. cmd couldn't see my aztech modem. the guys at the store told me it's a virus, i don't know if i want to believe that. but here's what i did...

RE-INSTALL WINDOWS

Yup, i did that n it worked like a charm.

blue68f100

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2005