help with amd athlon xp chipupgrade,ram,video,sound sata

I am fairly new to this upgradeing stuff because I have been out of the loop for 4 years. I currently have a 350 wat power supply, a nec 3540A dvd -/=rw and a liteon 52246s cd writer. my motherboard is a MSI MS- 6570 Nforce 1 or 2 chipset, with a cpu of 1800+ with 64+64+256 cache. my fsb is 333. MY video card is a radion 9800 pro with 128 megs of ram on a AGP slot. I have PD2100 ram (1.1 gig). the sound is built in and so it the lan. ata only on motherboard. I am on a fixed income(social security disability). I would like an opinion about doing a slow upgrade until I can afford a better system. I do gaming alot and video editing from our camra and music. I am interested in security + (CPENS) and want to do some thing to improve the system slowly. maybe a gig network card ( maybe two and what type) and a sound card to. I have heard about SATA 1,2,3 and PATA and I am not sure what it will help with.(and what it exactly does either) my hard drive is a w/d 120 gig hard drive. I am interested in any reply and it is greatly appriciated. ( I am interested in online gaming as well and have a couple older systems I will list later for help and advice on. also where is the best sites for the best deals and what should I look for? the most cashe, highest chip my board can handle, I am not sure.

Thank you,

speedbump1963

:?:
12 answers Last reply
More about help athlon chipupgrade video sound sata
  1. Start with your Motherboard. Check manual carefully, and chech MSI website to see what will be the limitations and compatibilities.

Then you will have a better idea of what you can re-use.

Maybe you will discover you have very little upgrade path, and will be able to start all over again!

I can see you have set yourself quite an interesting task.

Good Luck. :D