VPN connects fine, but then no network access

auriuman78

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2006
I've got a vpn endpoint router that I'm connecting to with a vpn client using IPSec with DES and MD5, pre-shared key. It connects just fine. My only problem is that once it's connected, my network neighborhood doesn't show my network at home and trying to view my workgroup computers results in an error stating that the workgroup computers could not be reached. When I try to do a manual connection, the same error results.

It is very likely I've missed some very simple thing - I'm new to networking and especially VPN. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

auriuman78

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2006
Is there anyone out there? I still need help with this issue... all the vpn tutorials out there lead up to connection, but then they leave you hanging after you get connected. My understanding of a vpn is that once you're connected to the vpn, then you should have access to the network just as if you were physically connected to it. I can connect, but no dice from there. I'm kinda lost here, please help...

riser

Illustrious
Are you trying to see your home side network or the other location's network?

Try typing into the UNC (\servernamesharename) and see if it comes up that way, or attempt to ping whatever you're trying to reach.

jhelfer

Distinguished
May 24, 2006
Do you have WINS serveres running on the destination network?

You'll need them to see computers in Net'Hood.

Otherwise you can do a "search for computers" and specify a IP address.

Also, make sure firstof all that you are getting all the proper IP addressing on your client machine. If it doesn't match, you won't be able to communicate.

folken

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2002