Sign in with
Your question

A first timer looking for some advice

Last response: in Systems

Should I opt for the E6600 over the E6700 and get the 8800GTX? Read below first.

Total: 4 votes

• Yes
  • 100 %
  • No
  • 0 %
  • Depends
  • 0 %
December 9, 2006 6:46:38 PM

Hey guys like the title implies I am looking to build my first computer, like most of the other new build posts I have had limited hardware experience and just wanted to make sure my money was put to the best use.

I mainly want a system that I can throw anything at with no problems, not just gaming. I have a 21” widescreen (1680x1050) and would love to be able to run games with the highest settings possible with out sacrificing performance. I mainly only play FPS but sometimes I will venture into other realms.

Here is my list of parts so far.
CPU: C2D E6700
GPU : XFX GeForce 7950GT
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Motherboard: EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 680i
PSU: OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply 100 - 240 V
Case: Antec Performance One P180B Black
CPU cooler: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro
Optical Drive: ? ? ? (probably doesn't really matter)
Main HDD: ? ? ? (is a 10,000 rpm drive worth it?)

I was also wondering if I sacrifice the E6700 for a E6600 (save myself $200, I plan on over clocking anyways with the help of a friend) and go for a GeForce 8800GTX instead of the GeForce 7950GT would that be a worth upgrade. I know the price of video cards drop rather quickly and I just don’t know if this trade off is going to be worth it. I know the 8800 series is a complete dominator, but the price is a little high.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for you time and expertise.

More about : timer advice

December 9, 2006 7:41:40 PM