Sign in with
Your question

Newbie Overclocking C2D6700/680i Mobo

Last response: in Overclocking
December 10, 2006 4:39:15 AM

Hi there,

so I got my new system (see specs below) and done my (some) homework on becoming an OC expert ;-) Can a kind soul give me step by step instruction on how to OC my system?

Some stuff I found suggested not to mess with voltage, then it won't damage the system regardless, however high scores won't be achieved. Some literature suggested voltage would have to be adjusted no matter what?!?!

After reading a lot, I guess I'd rather not mess with voltage. Can this be avoided or is increasing voltage something that's definately needed? I want to be conservative at first as I'm new to OC'ing.

I got the 680i board to finally get in to OC'ing, yet I'd like to take it slow. BTW, I won't make any further upgrades soon, what can be achieved with my cooling/my system in general?

Thanks in advance,
Pete

GIGABYTE Light 3D Galaxy II Liquid Cooling
ENERMAX Galaxy EGA850EWL ATX 850W Power Supply
NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 1066MHz FSB 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB SDRAM DDR2 800
GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express
SBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic 7.1
2 x Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA Raid0
1 Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
December 10, 2006 5:21:15 AM

I'm far from an expert, but I'll tell you what I can, and bump your thread in the process.

With that RAM you can hope to hit at least 400 MHz FSB, which can take your CPU as high as 4.0 GHz. This would not tax your memory at all, so you could probably go a bit further without even having to relax the timings.