Sign in with
Your question

64 bit, ram slots, and multi cores

Last response: in Overclocking
December 10, 2006 7:52:26 PM

Ok. I'm a tech and I know quite a bit about pcs. (so I think)

When is the actual step to 64 bit going to take place? XP64 bit was kind of a joke, and with vista coming in 32 bit and 64 bit, I would think that developers will be happy to update code rather than rewrite it.

Also I am a musician and the fact that 64 bit could support up to 128gbs of RAM, obviously way more than anyone will need for a long while, I am quite excited about it. The problem is that once again, most MBs only support 4GBs and usually have 4 slots or less. When do you think this will change?

Finally, Multicore technology has so far been awesome, but we all know the sucky feeling you get when you realize that an app isn't coded for multicore, thus it reaps very little benefit. With all this awesome technology, when will it all gel, and become the standard.

I am also looking foward to flash memory harddrives, although because of cost this is way off.

I currently have a AMD 3400+ dual core 64 and 2 GBs of ram.
Maybe I am being unrealistic but it doesn't seem much faster than the 3000+ single core I had with 1GB or ram. Actually I cannot notice a difference at all, and at times it seems slower.

No real problem here, just want to talk tech with other people.

I have been saving up cash and am about to build a dedicated machine for my music. I just suffer from hesitation, as I know the next new thing is always right over the horizon.

Stitches
December 10, 2006 8:39:39 PM

Quote:
When is the actual step to 64 bit going to take place? XP64 bit was kind of a joke, and with vista coming in 32 bit and 64 bit, I would think that developers will be happy to update code rather than rewrite it.