Can new AM2 mobos overclock DDR2-800?

ford30066

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2006
I am interested in buying a new AM2 mobo and have been considering the following: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe, Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4. I am new to OC, but have been reading many articles on it. I feel comfortable with looking into OC'ing the CPU, but I am still confused on how to OC the DDR2-800. It appears the ASUS mobo above can set the memory frequence (not sure about the GA) to one of 4 options [400, 533, 667, 800]. An article I read on Tom's Hardware page, said that the AM2 chips will automatically choose and set the clock divider. Most of the articles on OC'ing memory discuss using DDR[1] not DDR2. So how are people taking DDR2-800 memory and overclocking it to 900 and greater? Will the Boards I mentioned above support this? What memory should I buy? Should I buy Crucial or some other brand (I used Crucials memory configurator to find compatible memory). OZC does not appear to be support on these mobos.

carod

Distinguished
Nov 13, 2006
I'm not an expert on this by any means but i'll have a stab at answering it :D

The base fsb for your am2 cpu is 200, so on my x2 4200 chip it's base freq (200) x multiplier (11 in my case) to give a cpu clock of 2.20 Ghz. The HT speed is 200 x multiplier, usually 5 to give a HT of 1000 (but 4 x 200 on my nf3 board).

Your ram speed is also based off that base fsb of 200 like so, a ddrII 400 setting will use the base fsb freq but because it's ddrII it's dual pumped to give a resulting speed of 400. A ddrII 800 module would use the base fsb of 200 with a divider of 1:2 (or 2:1 depending on how you view it) to give 400 and again because it's ddrII it's then dual pumped to a speed of 800.