Sign in with
Your question

Volt Modding nV 7600GT

Last response: in Overclocking
December 11, 2006 8:33:17 PM

Hey,

I am thinking about volt modding my 7600GT to try to eek some extra performance out of it, but I have never tried it before. So, I'm wondering what the risk/benefit would be. I already have my card OC'd to 640/1700, so I'm not sure if I am going to get much more speed out of it even if I volt mod it. However, it still runs pretty cool (~45c under load), so I might be able to get clock speeds higher... I don't know. What do you think?

-Dean

More about : volt modding 7600gt

December 12, 2006 3:17:55 PM

Well, I found some guides online actually. They are for the "pencil" style volt mod. I'm not exactly an electrician, so I'm not sure how the pencil mod would affect life expectancy of the card.
Related resources
December 12, 2006 4:05:19 PM

As far as I know, a pencil style volt mod would not do any more damage than any other volt mod would do. Keep in mind that you are increasing the voltage through the chip, so its gonna have a shorter life, but hopefully you won't be using the card by the time that it burns out.

In any case, a pencil mod (in my opinion) is one of the safest you could do. All you do is take a normal #2 pencil and shade it in. If ever you feel like not overclocking, you could just flip the pencil over and erase the volt mod from existence.

Risks and benefits of doing the overclock here are just the same as with overclocking the motherboard/processor, except for the fact that you'll only burn the card rather than the whole system. Just take it easy and don't kill it on your first try. That wouldn't be very fun, no would it?