Computer crashes for no reason...

Hey,

I have a custom made computer (http://www.shockcannon.com/journal/?p=18 for the parts), and I've been using it harmoniously for 5 months. One day, my friend installed VMWare, failed to use it, then uninstalled it, and when I got back from work one day, the machine was off. I turned it on, but the machine shut itself down after 4 seconds. After many attempts and cleaning of dust bunnies, I got the thing working again, but when I get it working on Windows, the machine will freeze up and shut itself down randomly (when I play Warcraft III, browse movies on the internet, etc...).

Is there something I should look into or do I need to replace a part? Thanks.
49 answers Last reply
More about computer crashes reason
  1. I still don't know how that prevents the computer from loading the BIOs....
  2. Misleading subject... First get rid of the offending sloppyware, then see if its misbehaving for 'no reason'.

With VM ware, unless you are a registry pro, this might be a bit difficult. As this was a custom built system, one would suppose that the builders would've provided you with three good tools:

a: a recovery disk.
    b: a support number.
    c: a warranty.

Good luck...
  3. Well, I've already reformatted my partition entirely, and running on a new installation. It shuts down less often, but it still does it once in a while (let's say when I'm playing a movie or running a youtube file. Don't know what would happen when I cracked Warcraft III again).

I'm trying to figure out if there's something I should replace or not. But for a system that's half a year old, I'm not sure if it's really a hardware problem though...
  4. Obviously option a: wasn't available?

What about options b: and c:?
  5. I have done jobs on three pcs that had this problem; each had a different cause.

1) Windows was corrupt. Needed a full wipe & fresh install. If your PC is / was doing this in bios post- then this isnt your problem.