lewbaseball07

Distinguished
May 25, 2006
my freaking mom dropped my harddrive while it was in a external case

it makes a clicking noise and doesnt mount!!!

is it broken?!?!!?

i have it in my freezer rite now...

Wow. Sounds like your screwed bro. The clicking noise is the worst, seriously. Opening it probably won't help and will more likely hurt it since you're not a trained professional. I work on computers for a living and would never open a hard drive with data on it that I intended to keep.

BTW: Wrong section.

djplanet

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2006
Plug it in, boot up. If it works, yay. If it doesn't, bummage.

Don't open it up unless you REALLY know what you're doing. I say this because the platters CANNOT get ANY dust on them, or you'll get a head crash (dust will disrupt the actuator, causing it contact the platter, destroying it). Or, if you know it's fried, disassemble it for fun.

Remember this adage:

Hard Drives are mechanical, making them slower, less reliable, and more fragile than chip-based storage.

Edit: To TC: Yeah, that clicking is probably a f***ked actuator.

lewbaseball07

Distinguished
May 25, 2006
my luck...i plugged my other drive into the same ex.case when it was on...spark...fire smell...killed it...2 FLIPPIN DRIVES IN ONE NIGHT...i didnt have anything on that one tho

everett

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2004
Yeh, it's dust man, and opening it up outside of a clean room, without a static strap and no ion shower and all of the other mumbojumbo would do it in, even if it was good. Sorry man

ZozZoz

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2006
The platters are actually in a vacuum. I know this guy who recovers data, he built his own little "vacuum chamber" for that purpose

CaptRobertApril

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2006
In simple, pray you backed up your data. And don't do anything as stupid as opening the drive.