kimokalihi

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2006
What would be a faster/better setup. Two raided 80 GB 7200 RPM drives or one 10,000 RPM drive? I've never done RAID before nor have I run a 10,000 RPM drive.

Also, I want to run another larger drive to store my music and movies. Like 120 GB drive. Will this slow my performance down any? It shouldn't because it will only be accessed during music and movies.

Thanks

RAID's don't necessarily improve access speeds, and conversely, 10K RPM drives don't give increased data stability. Its kind of a apples to oranges deal, although you could RAID Raptors and have access speed and data stability.
But you already know that, and already know that you need two (or more) equal drives to setup a RAID.
So I'd recommend going with 2 x 120GB 10,000RPM WD RAPTOR X, in the RAID of your choice. Speed and stability. Gotta love it.

UAL3312

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2006
wasnt aware WD made a 120 gig 10k spinster. i have 2 150's in RAID0 and it is very fast you will see better performance in 1 10,000RPM Raptor then 2 7200RPM's in RAID0

mkaibear

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2006
"Faster" except in certain scenarios will be the Raptor.

You'll get a better sequential transfer rate from the striped pair of 7200s. This will have an effect in certain applications, but mostly the Raptor will be the fastest.

Having a second hard drive will not slow your computer down :)

Flakes

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
follow the advise above its good stuff, i was just wondering why a 120GB for games and movies? for the price difference just get a 200 or 250GB. personnally i wouldnt be able to fit all my games on a 120 drive never mind the movies.

kimokalihi

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2006
Alright, well that sounds REALLY expensive. I was just in bestbuy and I think it was like 150 for a 80 gb 10,000 rpm WD drive. But I'll be purchasing the whole thing off newegg, of course. So I'll count on it be much cheaper. Plus they ship to my house in 2 days most of the time.