emillika

Distinguished
May 19, 2006
I am a home user (teleworker) with HSI cable 10mbit dl/768 up and I am tired of collecting junk home wireless routers. I now have a dlink di-624, di-514(?) and currently in use is a Netgear WPNT834. The Dlinks had horrible WAN throughput and the Netgear doesn't seem to like port forwarding but has great wireless range.

Goals:

Keep high speed WAN throughput
Keep wireless range intact
Get a router that is easily managable for a advanced home user (I was a network engineer years ago but never really got into Cisco/Bay routers).
I need port forwarding to work so that I can get traffic routed to my SFTP/SSH server for client/application testing.

Any recommendations? Should I keep the Netgear and use it only as a WAP and get a good router? What router should I consider?

Thanks.

folken

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2002
For that kind of a internet connection you might as well shell out for a buisness class router.
If that WPNT834 wireless is working all right for you (of if you have purchased netgear mimo adaptors) just keep that as an AP.
Depending on how much you are willing to spend I'd go for the netgear FVL328 or FVS338. The buisness line is like night and day to the home line. The home ones are pretty junky in my optinion.

vinyl1

Distinguished
May 20, 2006
I am trying a Netgear RP614V3 and am having similar problems with a server and port forwarding. I am getting all kinds of weird behavior with port forwarding. First it overloaded and stopped routing, and then when I restarted the server, my app couldn't make or receive any connections at all. All I see is SYN SENT an SYN RECEIVED, but nothing is established. Curiously, you can still browse the web - I guess that's all it was built to do. Even my 6 year old Linksys works better than that.