Sign in with
Your question

Laptop need a new PC - 1st build help appreciated

Last response: in Systems
December 16, 2006 7:30:47 PM

Hi,

I’ve been reading Tomshardware for a number of years now, but this is the first time I’ve really visted the forum.

A few weeks ago my laptop’s motherboard failed and now I am in the position of having to replace it.

I had thought about getting another laptop but having thought about it a desktop would be far more cost effective for my budget.

I have ~£1200 to spend but could go up to ~£1300/1400 if absolutely necessary. This would need to pay for everything: hardware, OS, keyboard and monitor.

I am a very keen photographer so the machine would be used predominantly for image editing and RAW file conversion. I also like to play games, although I am not a big FPS fan so a topline graphics card isn’t totally necessary (but see below).

I had thought about the following headline specifications:
- C2D @ 2.4Ghz (could possibley get away with 2.13 as I guess RAM speed is more important for my use?)
- 2Gb of RAM (667?)
- ~250 - 400 Gb HDD (Fast if possible) - to be honest I don’t require vast amounts of room at the moment but I want space to grow.

I am not too concerned about rip-roaring-must-be-ultra-fast speed and have no need for overclocking potential, but I want something that can handle multiple RAW files (roughly 10Mb each) and deal with effects and processing quickly - and I often use iTunes at the same time.

I am stuck on three major components - the motherboard, the graphics, and the screen.