Sign in with
Your question

General Question about Gigabyte's C.I.A.2 on P965 Chipset

Last response: in Overclocking
December 19, 2006 10:40:30 PM

Hey all,

I've been using a dual AMD MP2400+ rig for about 3 years now (and have swapped out most components except for the mobo), and am ready to step up to the GA-965P-DQ6. I just ordered an Intel E6600 and a pack of Corsair XMS2 (2 x 1GB) TWIN2X2048-6400C4 and a pack of of Patriot eXtreme Performance (2 x 1GB) PDC22G6400LLK. Both are PC 6400 with 4-4-4-12 timings.

I'm pretty damn handy with PCs, but new to overclocking. I was wondering what kind of success folks have had with C.I.A.2 with stock cooling with the E6600 chip. Is it a waste of time and should I immediately start playing with FSB (and VERY carefully adjusting voltage settings)?

Question 1: By how much will the FSB boost with C.I.A.2?
Question 2: Will my motherboard use the proper RAM timings/frequency for my memory, or must I manually adjust to benefit. Will C.I.A.2 help here?

Thanks for any input!
December 19, 2006 11:10:13 PM

Quote:
Hey all,

I've been using a dual AMD MP2400+ rig for about 3 years now (and have swapped out most components except for the mobo), and am ready to step up to the GA-965P-DQ6. I just ordered an Intel E6600 and a pack of Corsair XMS2 (2 x 1GB) TWIN2X2048-6400C4 and a pack of of Patriot eXtreme Performance (2 x 1GB) PDC22G6400LLK. Both are PC 6400 with 4-4-4-12 timings.

I'm pretty damn handy with PCs, but new to overclocking. I was wondering what kind of success folks have had with C.I.A.2 with stock cooling with the E6600 chip. Is it a waste of time and should I immediately start playing with FSB (and VERY carefully adjusting voltage settings)?

Question 1: By how much will the FSB boost with C.I.A.2?
Question 2: Will my motherboard use the proper RAM timings/frequency for my memory, or must I manually adjust to benefit. Will C.I.A.2 help here?

Thanks for any input!