Should I liquid cool or air cool?

conn007

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2006
Ok, first, just help me here with the question in mind, dont start recommending other cases to me or anything like that. I did my research and i am pretty set on these i am about to explain... oh and i read what i could on this site, and i still need some help with this.

I am soon going to buy a new case for my computer. my two choices are eather the Thermaltake Kandalf, or the Kandalf LCS. If i decide to air cool, am going with the Kandalf; if i decide to liquid cool, than im going with the Kandalf LCS. I am new to liquid cooling and here are some questions I have.

-Is liquid cooling really that much better to the point where it would be worth getting (I am not an overclocker, but will have high end video card and CPU)? Or will air cooling do the job well enough?

-Is liquid cooling reliable? I kinda worry about leaks. Especially since i am new to it.

-Does liquid cooling require lots of maintainance? (fluid replacement, etc.)

-Is there anything else i should know about liquid cooling?

If it is worth it, than ill go liquid. but if air will do the job well enough, than I dont think i wanna worry about liquid... seems kinda like a hassle.

Thanks in advance.

apt403

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2006
-Is liquid cooling really that much better to the point where it would be worth getting (I am not an overclocker, but will have high end video card and CPU)? Or will air cooling do the job well enough?

if your not oc-ing then liquid cooling is useless to you, air will be more then enough.

rwaritsdario

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
Since you arent a overclocker and have your mind set on a thermaltake water system then I would have to say no. Air will have to do you and with good airflow you can have very silent fans on CPU and GPU so youll have silent too.

Houndsteeth

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2006