Platform Dilemma

BennyB

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2006
Hello all, Newboy here !

In the new year I will be building my first PC from scratch and I’m already stuck.

I was going to build an AM2 platform, I’m not a fan boy but I’ve been running a Socket A platform for the last 4 years now and with multiple CPU and GPU upgrades it’s proved to very cheap platform to maintain but it’s gone as far as it can go.

I don’t have bags of cash (around £400) and apart from future CPU & GPU upgrades the platform is going to have to last me 3 or 4 years, as I said before I was going to go AM2, this was until I read something yesterday about AM3 coming in 2008 which has made me think again.

How old is the 775 platform and are there any plans for intel to change this, I could only afford the entry level Core 2 Duo CPU but I’m thinking possible cheap future upgrades here ?

My £400 will have to buy me a MOBO (not SLI), CPU, 2G DDR2 and a new hard drive (250G), I’ll mostly be using my PC for gaming and video encoding.

I will sell my 850XT PE, CPU, RAM & Mobo and use the cash towards a new PCI GPU card so I’ve not included this in the budget. I have a 530W Superflower PSU which I’m hoping will last me too.

Any help / suggestions would be appreciated :wink:

apt403

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2006
definatly get a C2D, intel is going to be changing there socket sometime in '08-'10 as well, but theres always going to be something new coming out. although the C2D will give you a little better performance. , are you going to be oc-ing at all?

BennyB

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2006
No, no plans to overclock, I've dabbled before with MY XP chips but never really got it stable which is important for me.

Do used Intels hold their price better than AMD, I've never taken much notice of Intel prices

It's seems like I have less choice on Mobo's with Intel, I need two IDE's so I can use my old hard drive for storage, this cuts down my choice somewhat

quantumsheep

Distinguished
Dec 10, 2005