Gigabyte 965P-S3, E6400 - Want to OC but complete newbie

nila

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2005
Howdy folks,

I've been around computers a long assed time and am even a sys admin so work with systems all the time.

I'm totally new to OC'ing though and to be honest dont know that much about all the settings in the BIOS.

I read the 'Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1' but some of the BIOS options dont match options I see in my BIOS (or they could and they're just worded differently and because I dont know what it is I'm looking at I dont realise they're the same thing).

My system is:

E6400 OEM (2Mb Cache version)
Gigabyte 965P-S3
GEIL 2048MB DDR2-800 PC6400 800MHz CAS 5-5-5-12, Aluminum Heat-spreader
Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120 VX

Just wondering if anyone out there with a Gigabyte board could give me idiot proof instructions for my system.
I really dont want to damage it as it's brand new and cost me quite a bit.

Thanks for the help, very appreciated!

deadlydude

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2006
Yes...use ALL the settings. They are safe and will give you a modest start. Also...hit "control F1" when in the bios...this will allow you to get out of automatic mode and make the changes required.

nila

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2005
Hiya,
Took me a while but I got around to this and did it today (wanted to give my system time to make sure it was stable first with default proper values).

Anyway, set it to these values and when I save to CMOS it just turns off instead of rebooting.

If I then power it on, it starts to boot, gets past displaying the drives then reboots. When it comes back up it has reset the values to default.

I'm guessing its detecting a crash with them so 'saving me' by putting the CPU speeds back to normal.

I presume all the CPU tweaking is done in the MIT screen?

And would I also be correct in thinking that the things that are deciding the OC speed of the system is the CPU clock ratio and the Host Frequency?

476 seems like a big jump from 266.67?