Sign in with
Your question

Needing router with range

Last response: in Wireless Networking
June 5, 2006 7:29:53 PM

Hey everyone, I am needing a router than has capabilities of going about 500ft. My brother moved in next door and is needing an internet connection, but with his current job he can't afford anything here (broadband prices are very high here). He's on a tight budget, so he can't really spend any more than $200 for this network setup right now. I am using a D-Link Gamer's lounge DGL-4100 (the wired version), and would like to keep using it for the computers in my house, and maybe try to connect the wireless router to it. I am new to wireless networking, and would like to know what router I need, as well as adapters, and if there's anything else like booster's and what not... Thanks for the help.

More about : needing router range

June 5, 2006 7:55:40 PM

All you need is a AP with removable antennas. This is need to connect external beam antenna. Your coax length need to be less than 9 ft, shorter the better. Here is a link (http://www.hyperlinktech.com/web/24ghz_amplifiers.php) to a source of external antennas used in industry.

You will need one on each end. I would recomend buying 2 AP's, setting one up as a Client (your brother). You could set them up as a bridge if he has multiple computer to connect and you want to share resources ( files, printer ...).
July 26, 2006 1:41:36 PM

Do you have any recommendations for just a good range router that can be used with an internal laptop wifi reciever. It would only need to be b or g and thruput would`t need to be superior, just enough to use the internet for basics. I want to have my router be able to provide internet access to my mother in laws laptop and the house is right next door. Maybe 50 feet between the homes. I would prefer to just use it inside and not have to mount exterior antennas and such. Would the Rangemax or Belkin routers be suitable for this type of range.

Thanks, Steve