Sign in with
Your question

core2duo stepping A vs. B

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
December 22, 2006 1:54:35 PM

Hi i just recently got an E6600 but i have been reading up on the coding on the chip. Mine says L630A now this would be week 30 (eg: 24/7 ) but what is the A? I have seen chips with L630B. what is the difference? should i be worried? Im not really planing to o/c it into h.. , but i will try to reach 3ghz. Should i get a new one? Is there even any realworld difference? what about stabillity? And Heat? i think i read somewhere that the A version uses more power, is this correct?

More about : core2duo stepping

December 22, 2006 3:13:22 PM

Being a noob, I'd like to add to the question... what is the stepping value displayed by CPUZ? Mine is showing as a 6?
December 22, 2006 3:40:45 PM

what is the number at the bottom of your chip? mine says L630A and then some numbers i cant figure out. The L6 im unsure about, so far all the Core2duo chips i have seen have the number.L6, then followed by the week number (min is week 30 eg. l630a). The stepping as far as i can figure must be the A orB, but im very unsure. Read my first post.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
December 22, 2006 4:31:01 PM

It is too much of a hassle to pull off my heatsink to check the chip. But apparently my retail box has the details... FPO/BATCH# is listed at L632A163... I have no idea what the A means (or the rest of it), but apparently I'm week 32.
December 22, 2006 4:56:33 PM

I will wait for JumpingJack or someone more knowledgeable to answer your question thoroughly but I can answer it by saying the difference is very small in regards to heat output, if any is notable. Overclocking is occasionally different when steppings change, but I haven't heard anything about Core 2's changing much so don't worry about it. Definitely not worth exchanging for a new one.
December 22, 2006 5:14:22 PM