Sign in with
Your question

Cisco Pix 515 Help

Last response: in Networking
June 7, 2006 4:22:49 PM

I am trying to figure out if the dhcp is disabled on my 515 but I dont know to much about unix or its commands to find out. I can log into it but I am stuck on where exactly to go? Could anyone please help, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks Neal

More about : cisco pix 515

June 7, 2006 6:44:59 PM

im not a cisco pro or anything, but if i had a PIX, and i know Cisco stuff are VERY expensive, i would simply call Cisco tech support and get the quick answer from them. just a quick suggestion to get your answer quicker. :) 
June 8, 2006 2:54:47 PM

I know that by default dhcp is disable on the older model Cisco equipment.

I know if you input "show run" at the command prompt and look for "dhcp enable inside" i think is the command.

Your best friend is www.cisco.com and just search for dhcp on pix 515.

These snippets are some things you might see:

interface management 0/0

ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0

nameif management

security-level 100

no shutdown

asdm logging informational 100

asdm history enable

http server enable

http 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 management

dhcpd address 192.168.1.2-192.168.1.254 management

dhcpd lease 3600

dhcpd ping_timeout 750

dhcpd enable management

-----------------------------------------------------------------
dhcpd address 192.168.1.2-192.168.1.254 inside

dhcpd auto_config outside

dhcpd enable inside

===================THis is the 515 default config

interface ethernet 1

ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0

nameif management

security-level 100

no shutdown

asdm logging informational 100

asdm history enable

http server enable

http 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 management

dhcpd address 192.168.1.2-192.168.1.254 management

dhcpd lease 3600

dhcpd ping_timeout 750

dhcpd enable management
Related resources
June 8, 2006 3:59:24 PM