Semi-new PC build is totally dead......any ideas?

Rosanjin

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2006
I've been using my semi-new build for about 6 months. It has suddenly died. Hit the power switch......nothing at all. When I look inside the case, the motherboard shows the Green Power LED light, so I know it's getting some juice, but nothing else works at all. No fans, No POST, no nothing. I even tried switching the reset and pwr on buttons on the motherboard to see if that would help. No result. I'm guessing we may have a power supply issue, but is there any way to know that without taking it to a shop? I don't have any spares around to test with I'm afraid. Any suggestions would be more than welcome. :(

AMD 3800 x2
Asus A8N-SLI
1GB Corsair DDR 400
WD 250 EIDE
Ati x1800xt
Antec Smartpower 500w ATX 2.0 compliant PSU
(came with 1050 Performance case)

Well when mine did that exact same thing it turned out to be the ASUS motherboard, but I have a power supply tester and was able to eliminate that as the problem, but its either the M/B or the P/S and I'd bet money its that good ole ASUS M/B.

skylane69

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2006
Mine did a similar thing a few months ago. It was working just fine, then kaput for no reason. After I unplugged it and then plugged it back in I would push the power button all the fans would start spinning for about a tenth of a second and then nothing. The only thing it would do was blink the power light on the front. I wasn't sure what it was but I suspected the power supply. I pulled it out and smelled it. Now, I'm not sure what power supplies normally smell like but this one smelt 'burnt'. So, I took a chance and bought a new power supply. The machine powered right back up and it has worked just fine for a few months now.