How do you overlcock?

eatinpaper

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2006
I have an e6400 and see that people are overclocking their cpus all the way into the 1.4 volt range. I overclocked my cpu to 3.2 ghz and my load temps are about 56 degrees on air cooling, maybe a little lower, and my vcore is at about 1.27 volts. I ran prime95 for 5 hours straight any my comp is perfectly fine. Is this normal and if I try to overclock my cpu more will my temps suddenly rise dramatically. Also for some reason from 333 fsb to 400 fsb my temps have stayed generally about 53-56 degrees. I am new to overclocking this much so did I just get a godly chip where the sky is the limit and if I buy a water cooling kit will I just be cranking my fsb up and still have a solid 56 degrees under load when my cpu is running at 4 ghz? Or am I just a dreamer that doesn't know how to overclock and someone who is just on the verge of turning their computer into the new exploding duron that has spread all over the web?

I have an e6400 and see that people are overclocking their cpus all the way into the 1.4 volt range. I overclocked my cpu to 3.2 ghz and my load temps are about 56 degrees on air cooling, maybe a little lower, and my vcore is at about 1.27 volts. I ran prime95 for 5 hours straight any my comp is perfectly fine. Is this normal and if I try to overclock my cpu more will my temps suddenly rise dramatically. Also for some reason from 333 fsb to 400 fsb my temps have stayed generally about 53-56 degrees. I am new to overclocking this much so did I just get a godly chip where the sky is the limit and if I buy a water cooling kit will I just be cranking my fsb up and still have a solid 56 degrees under load when my cpu is running at 4 ghz? Or am I just a dreamer that doesn't know how to overclock and someone who is just on the verge of turning their computer into the new exploding duron that has spread all over the web?