Linksys WRT54GX vs WRT54GX4 vs WAP54GX

JaMiH

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2006
Hi, I'm just a newbie here and my mom is bugging me to set up wireless at our house.

First Question, what is the difference between Access Point and Router?

2nd, I've been reading some review with regards to the SRX400 that it is causing more problem compared to WRT54GX. Sure the extra range would be great but if its going to give me more problem, would it be better to get WRT54GX. Are the problems here related to the driver/firmware which can be upgradable?

3rd, We have 3floors. How does to range actually works. would it be better if we place the Router near the windows or somewhere in the middle of the 2nd floor?

4th, Are there any other Routers you guys would like to recommend? I've been reading some bad reviews on Netgear RangeMax 240 altough Tom's raving about it. I'm also considering the DLink 108G MIMO or RangeBooster

5th, Would different brand of Adapter affect my connection. is it necessarily better to have the same Adapter as the Router?

blue68f100

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2005
Will try to help,

A router takes a single public IP address and allows you to share it across a local or private network. Most ISP supply you with one IP address, some allow you to pay for a second if you would like.

AP are radio hardware that adds wireless to an existing wired network. Some AP's provide extra function like bridging (req 2, 1 on each end), repeater ... Most seperate AP have high gain antennas, and provide better perfromace over a wireless routers.

Multi story homes cause problems depending upon the construction materials. I prefer seperate router and AP, give better flexability. I would stay away from the 11n stuff. There is still a major compatiablity. There still problems existing with some 11g hardware, so I don't put much faith in to them resolving the 11n problems anytime soon. A good 11g setup works fine.

It's always best to have matching chip hardware, for best performace.