Sign in with
Your question

My laptop doesnt recognise wireless signals anymore!!

Last response: in Wireless Networking
June 12, 2006 5:23:42 PM

Hi

I am a newbie to this world of computer hardware...and dire necessity and great frustration brings me here!

I recently bought a wireless router ( D Link something), attempted to set up the prog by inserting the CD. The set up couldnt be done for some reason, and I went to return the router to the (extremely rude) Radioshack salesperson. But I then realised that my laptop did not catch ( is that the right word) wireless signals anymore..not in the coffee shop or at work. The Atheros hardware thing says it is working, but the wireless status bar ( the two blinking computers) says that there is no wireless connection available. I am not sure what is wrong.

Could someone help me with this please?

Thanks so much, and sorry if the hardware/ issue descriptions are annoying to the real professionals :) 

Tyna
June 12, 2006 7:25:25 PM

You haven't disabled the wireless port have you?

Right click on the wireless icon, should tell you if disabled or not.

And some LT have a button for turning them on or off.
June 12, 2006 9:13:09 PM

Hi

I did check the wireless icon, it is not disabled. Neither is the wireless switch turned off..
Related resources
June 12, 2006 9:19:02 PM

Check you power managment, it can turn it off and/or drop the power to it.
June 12, 2006 9:47:23 PM

I didnt get you. I checked the power management- it is on "full power". Is that what you meant?

Thanks so much for helping out!!
June 12, 2006 10:01:04 PM

Yes,

But under properties, network adapter advanced there are some hidden ones on some.
June 12, 2006 10:06:09 PM

Mine just has 4 tabs- Power save modes, Alarm, Advanced, and Battery Power Meter. And none of these has Network Adapter. Am I looking at the correct icon?

My laptop is a Toshiba Satellite A75-S206, if that helps
June 12, 2006 11:11:09 PM

I should have been a little clearer.