RAID0 Install Issue.

bruce10

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2006
Happy Holidays to everyone.

I have an ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe board, with two Western Digital 300GB SATA drives.

This is my first time to set up a RAID0 array, so despite lots of reading maybe I am missing something.

I set up RAID in BIOS, selecting the SATA drives to be in the array, in "IDE Configuration" as I recall on the main menu of BIOS. I also set up the array to be a boot option in that BIOS menu too (It replaces the HDD option that was there before automatically).

I then press F10 and build the array, selecting both HD's (both are exactly the same, WD 300GB). I then enter stripe size for the RAID0 array. However before pressing CTRL-X to exit this screen, I note that under "Boot" I see "N/A", and the option of pressing "B" to make this a bootable array is grayed out.

I then start loading WinXP, and press F6 at the correct time, and later load the drivers from my floppy that I have pre-made before.

WinXP the tells me that it can't see and hard drives, and aborts the OS install.

I went around and around, deleting the array and starting over, but still no joy. Does anyone have an idea of where I am going wrong?

I have since loaded XP onto a 100GB partition (C:) on one of the drives (non-RAID), just to prove to myself that the drives are working- or at least one of them is, although I got the "Healthy" comment on the array on boot-up.

I would like to get the RAID0 going. If I do manage to do this, given that one 300GB drive is now partitioned with a 100GB NTFS partition, will this cause any issues when I go to create the RAID? Or is all partitioning erased on creation of the array?.

Thanks- Bruce.

TabrisDarkPeace

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2006
Enable RAID in the BIOS as per the manual(s).

Then install Windows XP using the F6 method.

It may default to IDE / Standard SATA until flagged.