AMD vs. Intel, beyond value and performance

I'm trying to decide if I should upgrade my s478 system to a current AMD or Intel system.

As a poor student I want to keep my expenses down so AMD is a bit more interesting as they are simply cheaper systems. But I'm not sure what I'd lose in stability and otherwise going with AMD, as nVidia seems to have a habit of unleashing unfinished products to the public. Intel makes their own chipsets and they obviously work fine.

I'm not into overclocking and SLI is no of interest for me.

Are other chipset manufacturers even worth considering for keeping prices down?

I'm looking for any information on what AMD and Intel have to offer that the other doesn't besides value and performance. I already looked in to the topic of power consumption, and as both offer 65nm and 65W it doesn't seem to matter much.
44 answers Last reply
More about intel performance
  1. Quote:
    I'm trying to decide if I should upgrade my s478 system to a current AMD or Intel system.

As a poor student I want to keep my expenses down so AMD is a bit more interesting as they are simply cheaper systems. But I'm not sure what I'd lose in stability and otherwise going with AMD, as nVidia seems to have a habit of unleashing unfinished products to the public. Intel makes their own chipsets and they obviously work fine.

I'm not into overclocking and SLI is no of interest for me.

Are other chipset manufacturers even worth considering for keeping prices down?

I'm looking for any information on what AMD and Intel have to offer that the other doesn't besides value and performance. I already looked in to the topic of power consumption, and as both offer 65nm and 65W it doesn't seem to matter much.