My networking project (need help, tips, tricks, etc...)

12ozmouse

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2006
Hello!

I'll explain the setup.

In my household I've got a computer running XP home, another running XP Pro, a macintosh desktop running OS X tiger, and an ibook running OS X tiger as well (both mac's are wireless). They're all sharing the internet via a D-link DI-524 router but not network has been setup yet.

I've recently dug out an old computer (1ghz, 512mb sdram etc..) of which I've found a use for. And here comes the networking bit.

a) I would like to install Fedora or SUSE on the old computer and use it as a file server for any of those computers in my household. Mainly for sharing files, music etc.. I'm new to linux though so I'm wondering if anyone has some good resources for networking xp, OS X and linux together.

b) I would also like to be able to power the computer on and off remotely. I don't want it running 24 hours a day, only when i need it. I know of "wake on LAN" but i've never tried setting it up. Does anyone have an links to resources on that.

c) I would also like to be able to access the files on it remotely. When I'm out and about on my ibook i would like to have access to my files. I'm not sure if i should do that via a VPN (would love to try and set one up) or just setting up a regular FTP on the linux machine. Also, can you use "wake on LAN" with a VPN setup? Could I wake my computer up that way even when I'm not in the same building? Also, I have a dynamic IP with my ISP, i've heard of something called "no-ip" (I think)? Supposed to give you a static IP so you can connect to a server with a dynamic ip service. ANyone know details or a link for that?

d) I would also like to host websites off the linux machine, not for real hosting business but more for testing out websites and playing around with server side scripting. Does anyone have tutorials for setting up web hosting and apache and all that fun stuff on linux?