Sign in with
Your question

Help with connecting PC to TV

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 26, 2006 4:43:55 PM

Hi, I've never done this before and I need to connect my parents PC to the TV, and am needing some help.

The video card currently in the PC does not have a TV Out. So I will need to get either a new video card or a TV Tuner? I am wanting to view what is on the PC on the TV. Will a TV Tuner let me do that besides letting me watch TV on the PC(which I do not need)?

If I get a video card:
I saw that the TV Out on most video cards is S-Video; the TV does not have S-Video, but the DVD player that is connected to it(through RCA, composite cables) does(it has a S-Video out port). Can I connect the S-Video cable from the pc to the dvd-player and view it from there? Since the S-Video ports are all female, does it matter if its out or in?

If I use S-Video, I'll also need something else to connect the audio right? The sound card on the pc has just the standard in, out, &mic ports. What will I need to get the audio working?

If I get a tv tuner:
Besides letting me see TV channels, will it let me see what is on my PC on TV? I saw that a lot of TV Tuners that have S-Video and RCA- composite ports, but they were under the Ports "In". Do these connect out to the TV? For example: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681...

Thanks for any help!

More about : connecting

a c 173 U Graphics card
December 26, 2006 5:01:53 PM

Wires are like water pipes. If it flows out of one device, it needs to flow into another. The video card has Svideo out, so plugging it into a DVD Svideo out isn't going to work.

If your TV does indeed have composite cables then you can buy an ATI video card that has composite out. I'd link you a card, but I don't know if you need an AGP or PCIe card. (I know they have these cards for AGP, not so sure about PCIe.)
December 26, 2006 5:37:04 PM