digitalmatt

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2004
Well I'm sure you're getting this question a lot in this particular forum, and I've been reading them all, but it's getting a little confusing to keep up.

I'm a web developer/designer, and also a gamer and I'm getting ready to build a system for the new year. I've got $2500 to spend. What should I get? Here's what I've been reading is the most ideal right now:

- 680i mobo
- E6600 processor, but I'm hearing to wait for the Q6800 to come out?
- 2 x GeForce 8800GTx
- 2 x 74gb raptors? I think I want bigger HDs than that though
- 2GB DDR RAM? What's the best RAM? OCZ?

I do want to have dual monitors. Is that what I need dual SLI for? or is dual SLI just more powerful video?

Thanks in advance for your help.

NotAPimecone

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2006
I don't think you need 2 8800GTX's for anything. Save your money and just get one. As far as I'm concerned, SLI (and Crossfire) is a waste of money - an enormous cost for not too much gain in many situations. You don't need SLI for dual monitors (though with 2 video cards, you can run up to 4 monitors 8) ). I run a monitor and a projector off my single 6600GT on my old rig, I'm sure an 8800GTX can handle 2 monitors. Maybe if you game at 2560 x 1600, you could actually get some use out of 2 8800GTX's, but even then a single 8800GTX kicks ass. 2 8800GTX's for any normal resolution is like swatting flies with nuclear missiles.

The E6600 is a fantastic CPU, overclockable just as high as its more expensive brothers. You probably don't need quad-core right now (hardly anyone does). And if you decide you do need a quad later on, you won't have spent a ridiculous amount on your CPU already.