What's Required To Make ReadyBoost/Drive Work In XP?

CaptRobertApril

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2006
After careful consideration, I've determined that for my particular uses at this time (before I finally shell out for my 2xClovertown), the only real advantage Vista would be giving me is the Readystuff. Does anyone know how difficult that would be to implement in XP? Would it be a major OS rewrite or is some 15 year old kid gonna put it up tomorrow on shareware.com?

SuperFly03

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2004
Honestly I am not an expert on this crap, but I suspect it would be a pretty big rewrite.

ReadyBoost uses a connected device to store files, like a page file, and it works dynamically and is supposed to really work and improve system performance. Also, if M$ could have sold it as a performance booster, or added it to a service pack to improve XP performance, I bet they would have. It isn't like M$ is losing alot of people to other OS'es but it probably would make a few fence riders tip toe into M$'s camp.

Of course, if I understood ReadyBoost completely or OS'es completely I could be of more help, but I work with what I have.

Side note: WTH are the requirements for ReadyBoosy. I have tested my OCZ Rally USB drive, no go, iPod no go (wasn't expecting it to work lol). Oh well, who knows...... well hopefully someone does.

CaptRobertApril

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2006
Honestly I am not an expert on this crap, but I suspect it would be a pretty big rewrite.

ReadyBoost uses a connected device to store files, like a page file, and it works dynamically and is supposed to really work and improve system performance. Also, if M$ could have sold it as a performance booster, or added it to a service pack to improve XP performance, I bet they would have. It isn't like M$ is losing alot of people to other OS'es but it probably would make a few fence riders tip toe into M$'s camp.