First time builder... PC Part List. (Input Needed.)

FalseCourage

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2006
Hello all,

Here is my current build:
https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/Wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=5044627&WishListTitle=New+PC+Rig

I've consulted several guides on your site, and others in regards to the parts I've selected. But, since this is my first build that I'm doing on my PC, it wouldn't hurt to have additional confidence that I've selected proper parts.

This will be my PC for the next 3 years, so I've got a state of the art Graphics Card...

But, will the graphics card fit into the case that I've selected? I'm not soo good with measurements, thus the reason why I'm seeking assistance here in particular. (Feel free to give an elaborate or touch up response on measurements alone.)

Case Dimensions: 21.3" x 8.1" x 19.9" (H x W x D)

Video Card Dimensions:
PCB Length = 10.5"
With Bracket = 11.026"
Height (Inside Case) = 4.376"
With Bracket (Partially Hidden) = 4.975"
Width = 1.809"

Also, how does this PC build compare to the normal above average builds that you folks have seen? Are there any additional problems with the parts I've selected?

Any input / suggestion, etc.. Will be most apperciated.

Thanks,
FC

FalseCourage

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2006
Only recommendation I have right now is to change your HDD to this one.
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3250620AS 250GB
The perp. recording gives you faster access times for the same money.

Do you plan to overclock?

Yes, in the later years of its life cycle. (That is the reason why I shelled out for the 680i chipset that nVidia has put out.) But, in the beginning I will not be overclocking it.

And will the video card fit in?

Thanks,

FC.

AMDThunder

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2006
I'm hoping someone else may have that case that can tell us if the GTX will fit. I want to say yes, but I'm not sure.