Sign in with
Your question

First Build and Problem with CPU

Last response: in Systems
January 2, 2007 8:16:41 PM

ok this is my first build and I ran across some problems. I have a c2d e6300, gigabye 965p s3, G.SKill 1GB DDR2 667, and Geforce 7600GT. I installed the CPU, Heatsink, memory and videocard then placed into the case. I then installed the Power Supply which and tested the system. Everything looked good so I quickly turned it all off and installed the HDD and DVD-burner. However, once I turned it all on again, the system ran for a few minutes and then cut off. I rechecked all the connections and tried again. Same problem. Once more I tried but I decided to check the fan and cpu settings in BIOS to see if they were the culprit. I then noticed my CPU temp was steadily rising and hit 110 C!!! and then the system cut off. What could be causing this extremely high temp? The heatsink is working and I have 2 120mm fans in the case as well. I am sure I installed everything correctly as I followed the instructions to the letter. Should I start over and try again?

More about : build problem cpu

January 2, 2007 8:39:20 PM

Try to reseat the hsf, its probably just not on there correctly. Thats the only logical explanation that i can think of.
January 2, 2007 9:25:56 PM

reseated the hsf and temps are now around 65 C when monitoring the temp in Bios. This is also with the case open. Is this normal? I was under the impression that the cpu temp on the c2d e6300 is lower at idle.
Related resources
January 2, 2007 9:46:41 PM

Use the utility core temp, its one of the most accurate temp monitors out there. Those temps are still pretty high for a C2D, nothing dangerous, but still high. What are the ambient temps in the room this pc is in?
January 2, 2007 9:56:53 PM