Check this out please =)

Javno

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2006
I want to get this PSU: Corsair HX520w: http://www.jonnyguru.com/PSU/HX520W/

and

this case: Antec Nine Hundred Ultimate Gaming case: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-065-AN

I have noticed that this case is unique in the sense that the PSU mounts at the bottom. Now thats all well and good apart from this type of PSU has a fan on its bottom. Surely in that case, the PSU will "explode" after a while as all the heat gets trapped in, etc. I'm pretty new to building my own PC but I'm guessing most PSU's either have no bottom-fan or Antec is being a bit silly with this case. I dunno.

But it should be easy for me to fit the PSU up-side down right? Thats not going to damage the PSU or anything like that is it?

Cheers for any insight. (I'm prob just being crazy).

Valtiel

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2005
Im pretty sure that's how you mount the PSU (with the fan facing up for bottom fanned PSUs). It will not damage the PSU by simply mounting it upside down or as many people wouldn't buy the Antec 900 :eek: !

Javno

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2006
Actually screw it. I'll get a Antec Super LanBoy. My mate has it and it seems to keep his rig cool. http://www.antec.com/us/productDetails.php?ProdID=15001#

I just read this thread: http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/Antec-Hundred-Antec-P180-ftopict215591.html and it has put me off the 900 a little. I don't want a bottom mounted PSU, or wires stretching all over the place to find the Mobo, etc. I just want something I can put a system inside without any trouble and which does not get to hot :p The LanBoy may do just that... unless there are any horror stories I haven't read about it :?

Plus its about £20 cheaper and I'm a cheap bastard.

It would be comforting if people put their views about this case, whether good or bad (and hopefully from experience), to help me make up my mind =)

insightdriver

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2006