Seagate 7200.10?

Tang

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2005
Two questions:

Is Seagate the only manufacturer making the perpendicular recording drives?

The primary purpose of my computer is to play graphics intensive games. I don't really want to pay for two 150 Raptors, and I like storage space. I'm looking at buying two Seagate 7200.10, 400GB, 16MBcache then setting up RAID 0. Is this the best performance setup(without getting Raptor x2, SCSI), or am I overlooking a better way?

I'm a newbie, pls don't flame me 8O

1Tanker

Splendid
Apr 28, 2006
Two questions:

Is Seagate the only manufacturer making the perpendicular recording drives?

The primary purpose of my computer is to play graphics intensive games. I don't really want to pay for two 150 Raptors, and I like storage space. I'm looking at buying two Seagate 7200.10, 400GB, 16MBcache then setting up RAID 0. Is this the best performance setup(without getting Raptor x2, SCSI), or am I overlooking a better way?

I'm a newbie, pls don't flame me 8O
At the moment, yes...for desktop drives(3.5 inch). I read a week or two ago that Hitachi or Toshiba(can't remember which..right now) is coming out with a PRT notebook drive(2.5inch) in Q1 07. Two Seagate 7200.10's(16MB) in RAID 0 should fly. GL :)

speedemn

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2007
I don't really want to pay for two 150 Raptors, and I like storage space. I'm looking at buying two Seagate 7200.10, 400GB, 16MBcache then setting up RAID 0. Is this the best performance setup(without getting Raptor x2, SCSI), or am I overlooking a better way?
Why not the Western Digital Raid Edition 2 - WD5000YS for example? I have been posting on forums and the consensus seems to be that this would be better than the Seagate in RAID applications.

MadHacker

Distinguished
May 20, 2006
Why not the Western Digital Raid Edition 2 - WD5000YS for example? I have been posting on forums and the consensus seems to be that this would be better than the Seagate in RAID applications.