Expert-Reviewed as “BEST” Components -- Do Any Actually Exist?

Kreelor

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2009
Expert-Reviewed as “BEST” Components -- Do Any Actually Exist?
This topic's question could have been phrased any number of other ways.

Here are some issues which have thwarted my decision-making process to buy “the certified best” components (per-price-range) to build a new computer for myself.

My desire is to build my own computer system with major components (ex: MB, CPU, GPU, RAM, CASE, Sound Card, etc.), each manufactured with consistent, highest quality components (ex: Japanese resistors, capacitors, circuit board thickness, gold trace spacing, etc.). So far, I have not found any review, or forum post from any 'real' expert, that explains precisely the reasons why (in a comparative review) one MB or, other part, is --truly and technically-- a better performing, better designed and manufactured part than the other(s). I'm no electrical engineer, nor am I an expert in any other of the disciplines surrounding computer components, but some of the reviewers probably are. Some of the forum posters are probably and truly experts, too (although they seem to be very few in number).

THG “Badges” system is not indicative of real expertise, but rather how many posts a person acts upon. Even being selected as the poster of the “Best answer” can be misleading, since some Original Posters are ill-equipped to make such judgments correctly – myself included!! Many Best Answers are merely personal opinions, and not based upon the poster's own experience, or scientifically-proven facts.