Sign in with
Your question

Another my cpu is running hot post

Last response: in Overclocking
January 3, 2007 10:35:08 PM

I admit I am a noob, though one that is learning. I did a search and read some posts that gave me some useful insight. I now think that I need to remove, clean, and re-apply the goo on the processor. please correct me if I am wrong on that. I had to initially remove everything because the first mobo I got was DOA, seemed like there was enough paste left on the cpu so when I got a working mobo I just put the fan back in. My question is what SHOULD my heat levels be in my PC? previous to this computer I had a best buy special that I could care less if it blew up, now that I have a decent comp I care. Using the NVIDIA monitorview that came with the pc I am seeing the following:

Idle:
CPU 63c System 32c and the GPU is at 51c

With an MMO on max settings loaded:
CPU 87c System 36c and I don't recall what the GPU was at.

My computer has the following specs (no overclocking done on it):

NVidia 680i motherboard
Intel Core 2 x6800 2.93 ghz processor
2 gig corsair ram
Nvidia 8800 GTX
750 watt psu
10k rpm 150 gig hard drive.
The heatsink is the intel one that came with the processor

Once I fire up the MMO the fan goes full speed and things heat up. By some of the other posts sounds like many other technologies where stock parts = the suck. If that is the case could someone suggest a high end heatsink (trying to avoid liquid cooled until I OC a year or two down the road). Thanks ahead for any help you can give me.

More about : cpu running hot post

January 3, 2007 10:50:37 PM