penciltester

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2007
Hi everybody,

I'm a 2d animator thats about to upgrade from my abit vp6 dual p3 1ghz system.

I built this system awhile back and it has run 2d graphics programs and video editing programs pretty smoothly until late. So when I started looking to upgrade ,the landscape of processors had changed greatly. I've done some research on AMD and Intel but thought I would see what all of you have to say.

I'm looking at these processors:

AMD - athlon 64 x2 4200 am2

AMD - opteron 1214 2.2ghz dual-core

Pentium - core 2 duo e6400 2.13ghz

Pentium - xeon 5050 dual-core 3.0ghz

These are all priced about the same but I'm looking for opinions. Also, do I need to go with a Xeon or Opteron if I'm not working with 3d?

Any ideas or view points would be appreciated.

evilr00t

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2006
Hi everybody,

I'm a 2d animator thats about to upgrade from my abit vp6 dual p3 1ghz system.

I built this system awhile back and it has run 2d graphics programs and video editing programs pretty smoothly until late. So when I started looking to upgrade ,the landscape of processors had changed greatly. I've done some research on AMD and Intel but thought I would see what all of you have to say.

I'm looking at these processors:

AMD - athlon 64 x2 4200 am2

AMD - opteron 1214 2.2ghz dual-core

Pentium - core 2 duo e6400 2.13ghz

Pentium - xeon 5050 dual-core 3.0ghz

These are all priced about the same but I'm looking for opinions. Also, do I need to go with a Xeon or Opteron if I'm not working with 3d?

Any ideas or view points would be appreciated.

E6400, hands down, will dominate all of the other chips mentioned.

apt403

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2006
The Core 2 Duo isnt a Pentium, its a core 2 duo. The Pentium is a completly different cpu. Both are made by intel, thats pretty much the only similarity they have. The E6400 kicks the crap out of all the other cpu's you mentioned.

corvetteguy

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2006