Sign in with
Your question

X2 3800 overclocking... confusing temps...

Last response: in Overclocking
January 4, 2007 7:02:35 PM

Hey everyone...

I've been building PC's for several years now, but this is my first time overclocking. I have an AM2 Athlon 64 X2 3800 on stock cooling with an ECS C51GM-M motherboard. I've got the CPU running stable (I think) at 2.25GHz (x10 multiplier) and my 1GB Centon DDR2 533 RAM at CPU/8 (280MHz). Timings on RAM are 4-4-4-12.

My system is built into a spacious Ultra Aluminus case. I am currently using the onboard video without any expanion cards. I have a DVD-RW drive and a single 160GB Seagte HD. My PSU is a 500W Ultra X-Finity with a 120mm fan on the bottom.

I have an air funnel attached on top of my CPU fan which pulls cool air from the outside (~65F). Apart from this and the PSU fan, I don't have any other fans.

I fired up SpeedFan to take a look at my temps. This is what it showed me:
CPU Fan RPM: 3250
Temp1 - 45C(idle), 62C(load)
Temp2 - 32C
Temp3 - 25C
HD0 - 43C
Temp1 - 40C
Core - 30C(idle), 47C(load)
The single-value temps didn't change with load.

I'm wondering what these temperatures actually represent. I know HD0 is my harddrive. I suppose Temp2 and Temp3 are video and system temps. But do I have 2 values for Temp1? And why does only one of them increase with load?

I assume my core temp is my actual CPU temp. But isn't a bit on the low side, considering my lack of cooling? I'm considering keeping this overclock if Core is my CPU temp. However, if Temp1 is my CPU temp, I'm gonna back off.

Sorry for the long post, didn't want to leave anything out. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
January 4, 2007 7:40:38 PM

I'd be worried about the Temp1 load value, seems a bit high. This might be mobo chipset temp, but I've not seen them monitored before

I find that 50c is the highest I want any component temperature to reach in my systems.