New 160GB Western Digital SATA problem

slimbo737

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2007
I am very green when it comes to PC assembly...this is my first build for a personal computer. When I first had everything assembled, it was working okay. The BIOS saw the drive and everything. Then, I went to load Windows XP Pro. During the formatting process my hard drive never left 0% done and began clicking. After this, I tried rebooting to start the process over again and now the drive is unseen. I don't have any other SATA drives laying around to be sure that my drive is the problem.
Can anyone give me some advice or suggestions on what to do?
Thanks.

slimbo

pscowboy

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2002
You need another hd.

One tip, that a lot of noobies do wrong - don't overtighten ANYTHING! Just snug things up.

Just to make sure your hd is toast, can you borrow a friends' hd temporarily? Hook it up loose, outside the box on a piece of paper, in place of yours. Restart and immediately go into the BIOS - do not let it boot up. If it is recognized, yours is done. Shut down and give your friend back his drive.

slimbo737

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2007
Thanks, I suppose I should clarify how I am new to it...I used to work on PCs a lot (as a job), but by now they would be very outdated. Some used HDs as small as 2GB and even had ISA slots for some cards. So, I guess I'm pretty confident that the physical assembly is correct. However things like PCI express and SATA are new to me.

I guess my issue now that you say that it's probably dead is what could have happened to it? I would hate to stick another drive in there and have the same thing happen. Also, someone suggested to me power supply issues.

slimbo

PCcashCow

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2002
You need another hd.

One tip, that a lot of noobies do wrong - don't over tighten ANYTHING! Just snug things up.