1st time build, any insight/advice please?

ramble235

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2005
Hi all,

After many weeks of reading reviews/forums, here is what I’ve zeroed in on. This will be primarily for gaming and photo editing. I've never tried overclocking before, but I want to with this system.

Antec P180B Case $99.00
Intel E6600 CPU $319
Tuniq T-120 Heatsink (if I can find one)
Asus P5W DH Deluxe Mobo $219
Corsair XMS2 2GB (TWIN2X2048-6400C4) RAM $237
320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (ST3320620AS) Drive $94.99
NEC 18X DVD±R (7170A-0B) DVD $29.99
NEC 1.44 Floppy (if at all) $6.25
Artic Silver 5 $5.99

Plus these legacy parts:

BFG 6800GTS OC GPU (never been used)
BFG 550wt PSU (PT-6550NV) (never been used)
SB Audigy something or other soundcard
80GB IDE Drive
40GB IDE Drive
XP Pro OS

My plan is to upgrade the video card to DX10 later this year, say the 8800GTX.

Total from Newegg is $1016.2 +tax/shipping (includes $65 in total rebates on case and RAM)

Two parts that I'm really not sure about are the DVD burner and the Heatsink. Any recommendations for a better DVD, or is this one good? And can anyone verify that the Tuniq Tower will fit in the case/mobo?)

Thanks again!

R

ramble235

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2005
I suppose no news is good news?

I guess I never actaully asked for your opionions in my post (but I was thinking it :wink: ). Anyway, do you guys see any trouble areas? Such as using the 6800GTS with this mobo? That should be fine, right?

Also, I looked into both Crucial and OCZ memory, but could not find on their sites any verification that theirs would work with that P5W mobo (and the asus QVL is pretty sparse, in fact this exact corsair set isnt listed either, but corsair site says its OK). Could I do better on the RAM?

Thanks again. Sorry to bump, but the suspense is killing me! :?

R

ramble235

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2005