Gaming system build. Please help

xskx

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2006
Hello...

So far this is what I have for my new build.

CPU = E6600
CPU cooling = Zalman 9500
Mobo = Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
Video = EVGA 8800GTS
Memory = CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400C4
PS = PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 EPS12V

I dont plan on OCing because I have never done it before. And with the money Im going to spend, hopefully i wont have to OC.

Im getting the zalman 9500 to make my system quiet.

Will the MOBO I have be good enough if i dont plan on OCing? Should I buy a better MOBO since im not going to OC.

Also, will 610W power supply be enough for the 8800GTS?

I have a 22 inch LCD monitor so i will be running games on 1600x1000 or whatever it was. With the games out now and the games that are planning to come out with DX10, do i need to go Sli? Or will just one 8800GTS be enough? If i need to, i would be willing to buy a 8800GTX also.

If i do buy a 8800GTX will the 610W be enough?

Thanks for the help!

ReverendGadgetBoy

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2006
Well first off i wouldnt expect the zalman to be all that much quieter than stock. I have the same one, and I thought it was louder. The motherboard should be fine, although if you're not OCing then you could possibly go cheaper.

I don't know that much about the 8-series cards, but you might wanna go to like a 700/750 watt psu. it would give you expansion room.

greghouse

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2007
I don't know what to tell you about the case. I never had Zalman's case. The CPU is good, the mobo seems to be a good one, also I think you did a good choice on the ram. Well in my opinion it's good.

alpham22

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2007