Sign in with
Your question

I think my PSU is bad, confirmation/advice requested

Last response: in Systems
January 6, 2007 11:39:22 PM

I'm a first time builder, but I'm fairly certain I have everything correctly installed/connected. My problem is that my system will run for about 20 seconds then lose all power. The light on the mobo stays lit, but everything else dies. I can get into BIOS, but I can't do anything before the system shuts down.

I've tried taking everything out of the system piece by piece to find the problem. The only way it will run is if I take the CPU out. Does this necessarily mean that the CPU is the problem, or could it be the PSU? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

CPU: C2D E6600
MB: ASUS P5N-E nF650i
Memory: 2x1GB Corsair DDR2 800
Video card: eVGA Geforce 7950GT KO 512MB 256-bit GDDR3
PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681...

More about : psu bad confirmation advice requested

January 7, 2007 12:48:05 AM

I would get a bigger PSU for one. But, if you have already taken the GPU out and tried running and gotten same result, I would say you have a problem with the CPU itself or a heat problem.

If you have not tried with the GPU out, please do it.
January 7, 2007 12:56:16 AM

Same problem even when I take the GPU out.
Related resources
January 7, 2007 2:03:18 AM

There are 2 problems I can think of.......

1. A CPU problem, to find this out, get another CPU and see if it happens again, you can get this tested at a shop for about $30- 50 usually.

2. A heat problem, this is what it is if it is not a CPU problem. Comps shut down to keep themselves from overheating...

Maybe someone else here can tell you more. My advice is take it to a shop. I don't think it is a bad PSU though....
January 7, 2007 3:34:50 AM