New to forums and looking for (yes, you guessed it...)advice

WitsEnd

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2004
Hey all!

First I'd like to introduce myself and say I've been reading Tom's Hardware site for quite a while now, but only recently ventured over here to the forums. I've been messing around with computers for...geez I'm getting old...14 years now, but I am still learning new stuff every day and still manage to do incredibly stupid things more often than I care to admit! :oops:

I am interested in getting your opinions regarding a decision I am facing at the moment. I'm getting less and less happy with the performance of my computer but because of poor planning I think I am in a really tough spot now.

Here's the scenario: I have 2GB of G.Skill ZX PC3200 DDR ram, a GeForce 6800GT AGP graphics card, and a (cough) AMD64-3200 cpu. This is all installed in a socket 939 MSI K8N-Neo2 Plat. board.

I am mostly a gamer, so my games are both cpu and gpu limited at this point. I actually ordered and installed an Opty 165 but it turned out to be defective and I returned it, which has now given me a second chance to re-evaluate my options.

The trouble is, I really can't afford to fork out money for a new mobo, processor, ram, and video. But sadly I guess the only thing I can really hope to save is my ram at this point...or do you guys think that my cpu would be powerful enough to drive a good videocard?

Sorry for such a long post, and thanks a ton if you stayed the course, and for any insight you care to give! :)

P.S. I posted this in the mobo forum because I was reading a post about the ASRock VSTA boards, which may end up being part of my solution.

BUFF

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2003
why don't you try overclocking your CPU?
The K8N Neo2 isn't too bad at all as long as you avoid the 2 SATA ports that aren't locked (nF3 chipset problem common to all boards)

Newf

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2005
The Opty didn't work because your nF3 chipset won't support dual cores.