Need Help/Feedback on new build

Tung

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2004
I'm a noob at computers, thats why I'm here in desperate need of your help/feedback. I'm building a new computer to replace my really old P4 2.4ghz. This build is going to be mostly used for video editing programs like Avid, PhotoShop, AfterEffects, etc. (I do plan to OC in the future, but not right away and I live in Canada if that matters)

Here are the components I have chosen:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4 GHz (will get quad eventually)
MB: Gigabyte 965p-Q6
RAM: Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz E.P.P. Memory (2 x 1024) *Changed because OCZ has too many problems and incompatibility.
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700 Watt Power Supply, Dual GPU, SLI (I'm totally clueless about PSU, so some help in this area would be appreciated)
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB SATA NCQ 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache (OEM) and 2 IDE Western Digital 250 GB From Old Computer
GPU: $250 Budget for Graphic cards (Any Recommendations?)
CASE: Have a list of all the ones I like, going to check them out in stores.
COOLER: I don't think I need one since I'm not OCing' right away. Stock Fans will probably be okay for now.

Is it all compatible? Please Help.

Dante_Jose_Cuervo

Distinguished
May 9, 2006
I'm a noob at computers, thats why I'm here in desperate need of your help/feedback. I'm building a new computer to replace my really old P4 2.4ghz. This build is going to be mostly used for video editing programs like Avid, PhotoShop, AfterEffects, etc. (I do plan to OC in the future, but not right away and I live in Canada if that matters)

Here are the components I have chosen:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4 GHz (will get quad eventually)
MB: P5W DH Deluxe Socket 775 Intel 975X + ICH7R Chipset
RAM: OCZ DDR2-800 PC2-6400 Gold XTC 2GB (2x1024MB) Dual Channel (Good?)
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600 Watt Power Supply, Dual GPU, SLI (I'm totally clueless about PSU, so some help in this area would be appreciated)