Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz?

Last response: in Overclocking
January 7, 2007 11:30:24 PM

Ok everyone....ive decided its not worth spending money on a new processor for socket 478...im new to overclocking and ive benn overclocking my Radeon X1600 pro.....im a newbie :(  ....can someone help me over clock my P4?

my mother board is a Seanix 8IG1000MK

im not even sure how much i wanna overclock it....id like to make a difference though for gaming :!:

any help greatly appeciated :D 
January 7, 2007 11:57:10 PM

It's not quite as easy to overclock a processor.
You will have to change the Front Side Bus in the bios, and possibly add a higher voltage setting to your processor as well.
You may be able to get a decent overclock out of a lower end P4, since they didnt run quite as hot as some of the later ones.
January 7, 2007 11:58:21 PM

i realize that i do have to go into the BIOS but i dont know about voltage and how to change it
Related resources
January 8, 2007 12:00:15 AM

Try just upping the FSB for now.
You won't have to mess with the voltage until you get a higher overclock.
Start by upping it slowly, since going too high can kill the system.
January 8, 2007 12:01:25 AM

how slow would u say? and what u mean kill the system?...as in fry my entire comp?
January 8, 2007 12:02:29 AM

Yea. Just take the FSB up a few, then restart.
You will need to get a program to test the stability of your system.
There are plenty of overclocking pages on here.
Just do a search.
January 8, 2007 12:12:06 AM

alright thanks....and did u mean like a temp monitor or a performance monitor or something ive never heard of?
January 8, 2007 12:26:15 AM