Single or RAID!

FNGHBC

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2003
I've got the itch to upgrade my system,and was thinking of going to a RAID 0 setup,but don't know which drives to get!

System Specs;
A7N8X Del. (rev. 1.04) BIOS 1004
XP 2600+(333Mhz)
Corsair 512M XMS3200 (1 stick)
WD 80Gig Caviar 7200rpm uata100
Antec Truepower 480
Radeon 9800 Pro
Win XP Pro

I've been running this system for four years,and it has been flawless,however,my drive is partitioned,and I've just about run out of room on the OS partition.I originally planned to go to RAID 0,but was in a hurry to build it and just settled for what I currently have.

I would like to get a bigger drive or drives(for RAID),but need advice on which one/s.
My MOBO supports SATA,but I don't know which drives to get for that.
my WD is on UltraATA100,and I was looking to replace it with a Hitachi GST Deskstar T7K250 UltraATA133.

Would that be a good upgrade for my MOBO,or something better.
What drives would be recomended for RAID 0?

I want faster speeds and some more storage,really,as much as myboard can handle with no problem! :roll:
Thanks.

misry

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2006
After 4 years this system is about out of juice as it is. I would just get a drive to slap in there until you go for the BIG upgrade that is around the corner for you. If you want to purchase the forethcoming drive with an eye to a possible RAID0 in the future and you have a SATA port I'd say go for it. Till then, keep it simple and try not to stress them old bones too much.

One 10k RPM raptor has shown to be a great and more reliable alternative to RAID. You should look into one, as well as read the performance reviews of the drive here on THG.

Otherwise, RAID 0 is fast! I run 2x Maxtor 100gb sata drives and I do notice a big difference in many things except games (which raid will not improve on).

Codesmith

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2003
For peace of mind consider RAID1. When one of your hard drives dies you won't lose any data.