Try this myself or leave it to shop guys?

Scrimmage

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2007
I work as a sys admin and DBA. I have, in the past, put together a couple "performance PCs" (this was about 6 years ago), and in my day to day job I often have to swap components and so forth in consumer grade machines.

We have a small shop here that specializes in custom performance pcs and I recently decided I want to get a custom performance pc for playing the latest and greatest games. The specs for it are:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 64bit
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-SLI Premium/Wifi
RAM: 2GB PC6400 dual channel
Video: Geforce 8800 GTS 640MB
Optical: 18X Dual layer DVD+_RW
Harddrive: 2x320GB SATA RAID
Floppy: 1.44 MB & Front Card Reader
Coolermaster Centurion 534 w/ OCZ 600W Powersupply

The unfortunate part is they can't put it together for atleast another week (their charge is like 25$, well worth it imo), and I was wondering if this would be a huge challenge to rig up myself? They will gladly sell me all of the parts, but I'm worried I might mess something up. Like I said I've put together this kind of stuff in the past, it's just been awhile. As an example, I have opened a server and swapped out a faulty tape backup drive for a fresh one, which involved removing a number of components and other interior junk to get to it, so I'm not a novice, just a newbie in the hardcore gaming hardware scene. Usually when we upgrade a machine here at work, we buy a run of the mill consumer pc ready to go, as most people don't need anything special for their workstation.

My buddy from out of town is coming this weekend and it would be great to play some games with him, but unless I do it myself it won't be finished in time. Advice?

Scrimmage

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2007
Which parts of the build do you think would pose the greatest problems?

I was thinking setting up the RAID, inserting the cpu into the socket, and installing the mobo into the case.

sirrobin4ever

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2006