please help with vpn I beg of you!!!!!!

Spazo

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2006
Hello im kinda new to networking (well beyond getting a home networks started) and been trying to set up a vpn for quite some time now and I still cant quite get it. The best I can do is setup one inside my personal network. The host for the Vpn is an old Hp pavilion 511w with windows xp home. The guest computer is a compaq laptop with xp home also. The Hp Pavilion computer is behind a Linksys EFAH05W 5 port hub and that is behind a Speedstream 5200 E240-021. I have acsessed the speedstream router through Firefox and internet explorer through the 192.168.254.254 internal ip adress and in the settings there seems to be no ppp settings like the manual says so. I am sighned in as an admin on the computer and router but every thing seams to be basic settings. Ive seen other routers like mine with more settings. is there some kind of firmware update or something to get those settings and if so how do i finish setting up my vpn?

Thanks in advance,
Spazo

fredweston

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2006
What VPN are you using on XP Home? As far as I know, only Windows Server supports inbound VPN connections. Regarding your modem, you might try e-mailing Efficient (they still make Speedstream right?) or seeing if you can find some support forums on their site. My experience is limited to the business class Speedstream routers, and they were all CLI.

Spazo

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2006
I Added a new router to my configuation its a Linksys BEFSR11 behind my speedstream. (I also think they still make speedstreams because my friend just got one a month ago) The Linksys has a lot more options and with that ssl atrical I think im finaly well on my way. O yah im going to move into a new house in about a year and when im there im gunna build a basic server with windows server 2000 or 2003(depends on how much money I want to spend).
Once again Thanks to all for help.

Spazo

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2006