Sign in with
Your question

HELP!! System unstable. 8800 GTS PCIE overvoltage??

Tags:
  • Power Supplies
  • Motherboards
  • Components
Last response: in Components
January 12, 2007 12:52:53 AM

HELP! I have recently upgraded my PSU due to undervoltage instability with an Antec 550 W PSU. I posted these issues on this site. I upgraded to a Seasonic M12 700W PSU. No more undervoltage errors on ABIT EQ motherboard monitor. But now, it is unstable again. When in heavy graphics or other times it will occasionally freeze. Motherboard alarms ring. ABIT EQ shows warning with high voltage on PCIE > 1.65V (error). I have to hard reboot. WTF????? Please any suggestions or experience?? I am a PSU newb mostly. THX.

AMD 64 x 2 5200+
ABIT K9 SLI
EVGA NVIDIA 8800GTS
CORSAIR 2GB RAM
WINDOWS XP SP-2
SEASONIC M12 700W PSU
RAPTOR SATA 10K HD

More about : system unstable 8800 gts pcie overvoltage

January 12, 2007 1:14:38 AM

Is your PCI-E clock locked in BIOS?
January 12, 2007 1:17:37 AM

Frankly I don't know. I can check. Should it be??
Related resources
January 12, 2007 1:29:14 AM

It's set to default 100mhz. Should this be change??
January 12, 2007 9:32:28 PM

Please help folks. Any ideas?? Still happening - erratic.
January 12, 2007 10:06:22 PM

It just crashed again, but most power volt readings were extremely low. I live an old house - could intermittent power surge or drain efffect this?? I see this with other electrical items in this house (frequent breaker issues, regions out). I do not think it is this power supply at all.
January 12, 2007 10:54:05 PM

Decent bldg gnd? (the third connector on your wall socket...)

You can get a cheap go nogo type tester cheap at your local hdware store, or if you have a decent DVM its failry easy to test.

If the grnd leg is good, I'd be looking for a good UPS.

Your PSU will only take so much 'brown' voltage before it starts playing up. Same with over volt, only so much.
January 12, 2007 10:55:56 PM